UCR – 9 Things You Need To Know
Still needing your UCR to ensure you are compliant on the road? Don’t wait around because unregistered motor carriers that cross state lines without the UCR on file could face fines or get pulled off the road.
Still need your UCR? We can help!
UCR is the Unified Carrier Registration program for registering the operators of vehicles engaged in interstate travel. Individuals and companies that operate commercial motor vehicles across state lines are required to register and pay an annual fee based on the size of their fleet.
Who Needs a UCR?
The UCR applies to ALL operators of Commercial Motor Vehicles. That includes all Commercial Motor Vehicle carriers carrying their own goods and products across states lines as well as carriers transporting interstate goods (even when your vehicle does not leave the state). This requirement also includes companies operating as brokers, freight forwarders, or leasing companies.
How do I know if I have as a “Commercial Motor Vehicle?”
Any self-propelled or towed (such as a trailer) utilized on the highways engaged in interstate travel that:
- Has a gross weight of 10,001 pounds or more or,
- Is designed to transport 11 or more passengers (including the driver) or,
- Is required to have hazardous waste placarding
What is the Deadline for 2021 UCR Registration?
The annual registration must be renewed by December 31 for each year.
Which States Participate in the UCR Agreement?
Here is a list of the 41 states that participate in the UCR agreement.
What if My Home State Does Not Participate?
The non-participating states consist of Arizona, Florida, Hawaii, Maryland, Nevada, New Jersey, Oregon, Vermont, Wyoming, and District of Columbia.
If your state doesn’t participate, you still have an obligation. Any motor carrier that travels over state lines (interstate) is required to purchase a UCR. You are required to purchase a UCR in the nearest participating state instead.
What Happens if I Do Not get my UCR?
Each state has the authority to enforce registration compliance via roadside enforcement checks and via business audits. Your vehicle could be detained, and you could face fines that range from $100 to $5,000 for your first offence depending on the state.
Do I get a Certificate or Proof of My UCR?
No. Your registration information is kept in a national database that is accessible by law enforcement personnel.
How do I get my UCR set up?
We can help with that!
UCR Setup – Get More Info
Comments are closed